Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Honestly, this is a new thing for me.

Hi, I'm a newbie with a big problem.
    My SO lost his mother years back, I'm assuming to some disease and it was on Mothers Day, the anniversary of her death. Mothers Day is celebrated in different countries other than the USA all over the world.
    I just got word that his father passed, on the anniversary of his mother's passing.
    His dad was a great fella. He would visit my SO in Japan from the UK every holiday season and seemed like a right chap and a wonderful person. My SO would post pics of them in a pub having the time of their lives. I can only assume that it was a very sudden death because not a word was spoken by him about any illness. This is all I know so far and I guess he is making travel arrangements to go back to England for the services. He is an only child, just like I am and I put myself in his shoes. Being in a country far away, no brothers or sisters, it would make me feel like an orphan even though I am 40. My parents are still alive and I don't know what its like to lose a parent. Especially so suddenly and on a day such as that.
    Selfish me, I'm having doubts for the first time in two years about us. I cannot be there as I am food stamps poor and don't even have an updated passport. Also, I'm sure his wife will come to pay her respects. This is when the trust has to kick in and say "He loves you as much as you love him and you made a pact last April when we were together that we would wait as long as it takes to be together again and never cheat on one another. Is it silly of me to think that he would seek comfort in another woman's arms other than mine because I cannot be there physically?
    I am being overreactionary, arent I?
    Plus, I feel so sorry for him.

I'm sorry to read of his loss. I hope it was a typo and you meant his ex-wife?