Struggling with boyfriend not tell his ex about us

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Struggling with boyfriend not tell his ex about us

His guys I'm new to this but need advice or different point of view with this LD relationship. I've being dating my boyfriend for 14 months now, we live 2 hours apart, see each other 2/3 times a month, he has one son who's 11 yrs, I have 2 boys 4 &5. He has met my all family even spent last Xmas with us. My issue is that I don't understand his fears... he's left his sons mother 3 years ago he supports him financially and has him over 3/4 a week. Yet I haven't met him and he hasn't told his ex about me. The reason that I'm still with him is because I love him and I believe he loves because I've met his parents. His excuses are that his ex might stop him and his parents have access to his son. Now she works 9-6 and most of the days his parents have to pick the son from school and then she picks him up and takes him home. Now my view is that she needs his parents cos she gets help how would she do otherwise??? He started a new job in September and we've agreed to wait until he's probation is over (6 months) to tell her about me. I just don't get why he can't say it now I mean it's been 3 years. I've broken up with him before but he says he can't live without me and he just needs time to do it right. Not sure if I should walk away. He has had 1 previous girlfriend he also left him cos he just can't tell his baby mother. What should I do. Even his own mother said he should tell her. Help don't know what to do.

I mean, he has a legit fear. If they are not divorced and only separated, she can go to court and ask for his visitation rights to be removed. I would find out why he is so worried, what is at stake and then see how to deal with it. He's his son, he doesn't want to lose him and that's understandable.

Relationship began: 05/22/2012
    First Met: 03/21/2013 - 03/30/2013