Please help-- getting desperate!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Please help-- getting desperate!

Hello to all, I am a newbie to this site-- so glad I found it!

I need some help. I am getting soooo depressed and confused and losing hope.

My SO is in Melbourne, Australia. I am in the USA Midwest. We are a gay male couple in our early 50's. We met online and have been inseparable for the last two years. We have met twice now, for a total of 7 weeks. All was great. We are very much in love.

The problem is that this long distance thing is getting very hard to deal with. We want to live together and have a real life.

Australia does not recognize same-sex marriages. USA does. I own a home, he does not-- he rents a (very expensive) flat in Melbourne. One of us will have to make a HUGE move. It is so scary to think about! Iam a self-employed hairdresser and he works a job in management that doesn't require a specific degree. Bear in mind that we are both in our early 50's. What are we going to do?

The logical thing would be for him to quit his job and move into my house. I don't make a lot of money, but I think I could support the both of us. For me to move to Oz seems daunting and I really do not want to have to sell my home and move into a small flat. Also, we both are only children and have aging parents. Do we get married?... and what if after the "big move" one of us is unhappy? Between our job schedules it is difficuly to have a long visiting time together.

So much seems against us. I have checked on Visa Journey, but it seems most of these folks are young-- and have at least one specialized career between the two of them. We do not.

We do not have an "end" date in sight. This makes me lose hope. My SO is okay with this, but I am not. I don't want this kind of long distance relationship forever. I get tired of talking to my computer screen! And there is a 14 hour time difference.