Girlfriend depressed at idea of Long Distance Relationship

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Girlfriend depressed at idea of Long Distance Relationship

My girlfriend and I are in a serious relationship. I graduated college last May and have been looking for work since. She is still in veterinarian school for another 3 years. We have known for a while that there was a likelihood of me finding work out of state (I'm looking to break into a fairly specialized industry) and she had always been supportive of the idea.

However as time went on and the prospect of me getting a job across the country has become more of a reality she has become noticeably disturbed by it. At first it didn't seem like much, but the company and I are now negotiating an offer and I'm only days away from potentially signing something...and things have gotten much worse.

She has always been an anxious person, but it has gotten to the point where she is sad throughout the day and almost completely irrational at night. She hardly ever sleeps and is constantly tossing and turning, crying, and worrying about one thing after another (most having to do with our relationship, others not). She sometimes goes as far as feeling so hopeless she wants to end our relationship all together. It seems that no matter what I try I can't reason through any of it with her or pin down her concerns to help either. She is quite a bit better in the day, and she swears she'd do anything to stay together. She's far from her normal self still though. She eats far less than she used to, she naps during the day, and she has almost completely given up running (something she used to love, and actually had a scholarship for in undergrad).