Engaged and going into LDR

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Engaged and going into LDR

Hey everyone! It's my first time here! So, heres my story!
    My now fiance and I met while doing LDR. After a year we moved in together. We've lived together for over a year now. Well, he was offered a great job opportunity in San Luis Obispo. About 250 miles from where we currently live. I did everything I could to find a position out there, but I knew it would not help further my career. Long story short, I was offered an amazing position in my home town that I absolutely couldn't turn down. So, he's moving to San Luis Obispo in 2 days and I am staying in Mission Viejo. He has signed a contract for 2.5 years. So thats the minimum were looking at. We've made plans to visit each other on the weekends, or every other weekend. I guess I'm just trying to get some advice from some people that are engaged or married and doing long distance? I'm terrified that going into this that we may lose our relationship. We love each other and are willing to work our hardest to make our engagement/marriage work out!! Any advice is greatly appreciated and I'm looking forward to checking out this forum!! Thanks guys!

Hi and welcome. I'm engaged and currently closing the distance. There are couples here that have even married and are still long distance. Communication is key to any long distance relationship. Make time for each other but also make plans while your apart. You need to have a life outside each other. Luckily planning a wedding will keep you very busy. This forum is a great source of support too.

Comment

Thank you so much!

Comment

Distance is not an obstacle for love. It is a reminder of how strong love can be.

The milage between the two of you is relative little. So that makes it relative easy to visit each other on a weekly / twoweekly basis. I am not saying that a shorter distance is easier when you're apart than longer distance...