Timing couldn't be worse

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Timing couldn't be worse

I'm a newbie and here is my story (I just wanted to get it off my chest and would love to hear any opinions on my situation, or hear if anyone else has a similar story). Here goes, sorry if it's long!

I live in Australia and at end of 2011 I travelled to Europe with my cousin. We were doing a 3 week tour with a touring company and before going we checked out the company's website where you can post in forums to meet people who are going to be in your tour group. I had just been dumped a month prior and coincidentally my cousin broke up with her boyfriend on the same day so we decided we'd get over our heartache and enjoy the single life on our trip. We both separately had been checking out the forums to see if there would be any hotties on our tour. I came across a post from a man (who we'll call S) who was 24 and a teacher, and as fate would have it he lived about one and a half hours away from me. He wrote that he had never been out of Australia before and he booked this trip around Europe because he was moving to London straight after the trip. I thought he was cute, but maybe a bit old for me (I was 20 at the time) and my cousin happens to be a teacher as we'll, so I kept him in the back of my mind because I thought that they might be good together as a fling for her on the tour.

So we arrive in London to begin the tour and attend a meeting at the hotel with the tour group the night before the tour starts. I still had the image of this guy in the back of my mind and was expecting to meet him there, but he was a no-show. This is not all that unusual because some people arrive on the morning of the tour departure, but I can't explain the feeling I had for the rest of the night after that meeting. It's almost as if I felt I'd missed out by not having met him, as if I already missed someone who I'd never met.