Before the military life...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Before the military life...

My name is Meagan and I’m sixteen years old and I’ve already found a love that I never imagined at this age. My fiance, Mac, and I knew each other for four years before we started dating. I lived literally across the street from him for three of those years too. He is two years older than me so we weren’t around each other all the time but he and I had the same friends so we knew about each other and happened to hang out occasionally with the same crowd. He was a senior and I was a sophomore. I was also friends with his brother for a long time so I knew his family pretty well. Mac and I started talking more because a friend of mine had a crush on him but she was too shy to hang out with him by herself so I was her tag along. She decided she liked someone else but Mac and I continued talking and seeing each other more often. One day I was at the mall with my friend, Bryan, and he was talking to a Marine Corps recruiter. He wasn’t done with his meeting yet but I needed to get home, to my luck Mac and his mom walked in the office door. Mac was already enlisted in DEP, the Delayed Entry Program; he was enlisted in the United States Marine Corps at seventeen and was just waiting to graduate high school to leave for boot camp. He was just checking up with a recruiter really quick and then they were headed home, but his mom offered me a ride because she knew I really needed to leave. We were on the way back and Mac was flirting with me the entire time. He kept reclining his seat back so far that it was practically on top of my legs. His mom, Karra, had to stop by the car dealership and pick up something so it was just Mac and I in the car waiting. He continued with the chair so I jumped out of the seat and sat on the floor between the front and back seat, he looked down at me and I looked up at him and our eyes just clicked. It felt like time stopped and it was just