Right under my nose for two years before I noticed

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Right under my nose for two years before I noticed

So my SO and I recently took our domestic LDR to an international LDR and I'm missing him today so I thought I'd add our story here.

We went to college together in the US, he is a year younger than me. We met when he was a freshman and I was a sophomore because we both played saxophone in the school band. I was dating someone at the time, studied abroad, ended that relationship, etc, and somehow it worked out that for the first two years we knew each other, we sat next to each other for two hours every week and really didn't speak at all.

We returned to campus for my senior year/his junior year. A very flirtatious freshman now sat on my other side. He made me really uncomfortable by aggressively flirting with me and talking to me every chance he got. So I started talking to my future SO instead. I am not normally the initiator in relationships (I'm quite shy and so is my SO) and I had gotten out of an 18-month relationship only 7 months earlier. I didn't really understand what was happening, I just felt drawn to him--my roommate kept teasing me that I was going to date him, although I'd spent the first two months of senior year swearing I would not date because I was going off to grad school. I felt like I had to keep talking to him.