LDR plus May-December relationship - twice the hardship

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

LDR plus May-December relationship - twice the hardship

I just want to share & know what you think about my LDR, I know mine is really weird.

I'm new to both - long distance relationship AND May-December relationship as well. I'm 39 years old, never married, no kids and he is 20, and studying in college. I'm in Asia and he's in the US. We're both Asians in ethnicity.

My story started in 2009. I love dancing and I joined an online community on dancing. I met a great group and we became like a family. I never told anyone my age - not that anyone asked. Soon we all gave our facebook accounts and skype accounts and started becoming real friends. No one asked how old I was because they all think I was 24. I'm not kidding and I'm not trying to be conceited too but even "he" thought I was 20. So in January 2011, he started messaging me privately and vice versa. I notice that it was fun talking to him about dance and life and college. He knows I'm working already so he assumed I was around 24. The problem started when it got to more than being friends. We both got attracted to each other and soon, he started saying he likes me then I said I like him since I thought "liking" someone doesn't mean I'm in love or something. But in a month's time, he seemed to be getting closer to me - we talk on skype everyday. Then one day he said that he loves me.

I was shocked. I said to myself "nooooo, this is wrong," all my previous boyfriends are 2 years older than I am. I have never been in a May-December relationship before, let alone a long distance relationship! So I told him, "wait, before this blows up completely out of proportion, do you know how old I am?" and he answered "the same age as me?" and so I told him my real age and explained that we can only like each other and not anything more than that. But it turned out he wasn't buying that. He still wanted me.