Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

How can I get my SO and I to plan together on closing the distance?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How can I get my SO and I to plan together on closing the distance?

Originally, I had figured that the distance would close after I graduated college (end of August of this year) and that I would follow him to wherever he was going to finish his degree. That was always what we had decided before we started our LDR. But now he's expressed concern that he's a little skeptical about moving in together when that time comes, because we've only would have been together for a year and a half when that time comes. He even told me that he'd rather be in a long distance relationship because we've already experienced it and we know how to handle it... that I don't like at all.

On top of that, there are other factors. I didn't anticipate having the distance last longer than a year, but now that he's unsure of how our living situation is going to be next year (not just cause he's skeptical, he doesn't know where he's gonna end up and that's important). If we somehow can't be together, there's another two years of distance, until he graduates. Then he's recently showed interest in joining the military after graduation. If we're not married, there's no way I can be with him and then I'm gonna have to go through a possibility of up to 4 years of distance again.

That's like 6 years (not including the year we're in now) of long distance! I really don't want it to have to be that long, or even not have a plan for what we're gonna do. He's expressed just wanting to take it a day at a time; he doesn't want to put an end time on it because he thinks that's a little "dumb." But all of this uncertainty is driving me a little crazy (even if it is a ways away) because I want to do what I can now to make it possible that we can be together!