Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

How do you decide which partner should move when closing the distance ?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How do you decide which partner should move when closing the distance ?

This is somethig that has been in my head for a while even though closing the distance won't happen for us until in 3-4 years.
    Well, in our situation: My SO is enlisted in the military currently for the next 4 years. He is not sure yet if he wants to re-enlist for another 2 years or so after that and is seriously considering doing something that is out od the field, like starting a dog boarding kennel or something.
    Fo my part, I am a student and wont be able to graduate before 2016 !

So far, whenever we talked about the future, it sounded like it is clear for him that i will move to the USA. His argument is the language. And that due to the army and what he is doing there, he is bound to his state right now.
    Well, but on the other hand, I have things that want me to stay in germany, too ?? My family for example ? His family lives in Hongkong, so he doesnt see them often anyway. But yeah, i am kind of close with my family and i am already scared of that day when i would have to say goodbye ( my mom cannot go on transatlantic flights because she is too scared). Yeah, been there, done that already and i dont want to do this again to be honest...

So, how did you guys decide who should move ? For me, I would do it for him but only if i know he would do it for me either. It is weird how he says he cant move because of the military, but once he is not enlisted anymore ? How should it be harder for an American in Germany than for a German in America?

I really believe that neither should move until each has lived in the other's country and given it a go but that's not always an option.

The thing is, if the person who moves does it under duress, they will not find happiness, generally. You have to want to do it.