Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Are These Circumstances Enough to Prove Conjugal Partnership for Canadian Visa Apps?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Are These Circumstances Enough to Prove Conjugal Partnership for Canadian Visa Apps?

So, it has been a while since I've posted. Life just gets so crazy...

My SO and I are, after significant issues, ready to close the distance.

If marriage is the only option, it is the route we will take, but we first want to consider alternatives because we both have a vision for a wedding that we know we cannot afford yet since I'm still a student and he will be graduating in the spring.

Thus, we were looking at visa eligibility (he is from the UK and will be moving to Canada) and noticed the category of conjugal partners for spouse sponsorship. The government website describes conjugal partners as follows:

"This category is for partners—either of the opposite sex or same sex—in exceptional circumstances beyond their control that prevent them from qualifying as common-law partners or spouses by living together.

A conjugal relationship is more than a physical relationship. It means you depend on each other, there is some permanence to the relationship and there is the same level of commitment as a marriage or a common-law relationship.

You may apply as a conjugal partner if:

- You have maintained a conjugal relationship with your sponsor for at least one year and you have been prevented from living together or marrying because of:
    - An immigration barrier
    - Your marital status (for example, you are married to someone else and living in a country where divorce is not possible) or your sexual orientation (for example, you are in a same-sex relationship and same-sex marriage is not permitted where you live)
    - You can provide evidence there was a reason you could not live together (for example, you were refused long-term stays in each other’s country).