Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

US to Canada Immigration (yes, one of those threads)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

US to Canada Immigration (yes, one of those threads)

Okay, before y'all jump on me and point me to all the other US to Canada threads... trust me, I've read them. I've also spent hours (likely, when you round up all of the hours, it would amount to weeks. Prolly not months, though) googling, looking on CIC's site, calling and bugging the people on their 1-888 number, etc. And yet, I'm no closer, I feel, to understanding what I need to do.

I studied for a year in Edmonton (where I'm trying to move) but did not live with my SO at the time because he lived in Slave Lake. Now he's in Edmonton. I had to leave the country because of the change in US financial aid requirements and the subsequent dropping of support from my uni. I went up to Edmonton and spent the summer there and tried to find a job. However, though there were leads no one ended up hiring me.

Now I'm back in Texas and trying to move to Edmonton. My boyfriend and I are planning to get married next year, but I noticed that the wait times for spousal visas are currently, at shortest, 18 months. I have a job with Starbucks and I know they could transfer me up there, but it's quite unlikely. I've also embarked on the journey of being a published author.

So that's the ...overview of the situation. So my questions boil down to this:
    1. Would it be quicker to apply as a self employed person? There's no data I can find on processing time for this visa. I won't be able to apply until May for that visa.