Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Closing the distance between an American and Candian.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Closing the distance between an American and Candian.

Me and my SO have been together for almost 2 and a half years. We have visited each other multiple times and want to close the distance soon. I am 18 years old and for my high school graduation present to myself I visited my SO in his home country for the the first time and I LOVED it there! I would love to live there with him and his family was as amazing as I thought they would be. I decided not to acquire any further education past high school quite yet because I thought it would tie me down to my current location. I've been working and saving for over two years now and have a couple thousand dollars saved up. I plan to use my savings to get me to my SO. I also plan to sell my car to help me get there. My problem is I have almost no knowledge on how to get started on a working visa in Canada or where to even begin. I know it takes time so I want to get started soon. I know an easy solution is marriage but both my SO and I agree we are young and we don't want to wed just for the sole purpose of being able to live together if we can avoid it. We have no issue wedding we just feel like it is not the right time. I know my SO would not enjoy living here in this specific state with me and he has already pursued an education beyond high school and wants to get started on a career. So it only makes sense that I move to him so that he can focus on a career.

So, really my big question is how do I begin the process of getting a one year working visa in Canada? How long approximately does the process take? Are there any other options for me and my SO? I would LOVE to hear your story and or advice if you have any. I have the money and the motivation I just need to know where to start.

Thank you so much for reading my rant! Any info would be much appreciated!
    -memyj97