Seeking support

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Seeking support

Why hello to anyone who is reading this! My name is Calyn. I live in Indianapolis, Indiana. My main and only supporter is my best friend which also happens to be my significant other, Laurence. Him and I met online a year and 3 months ago. I'm not use to any forums or blog things, in fact, this is my first one. So i'll cut straight to the chase.

I am having difficulties in having support from my family. I have been saving up money for about 3 months to take a trip next spring for a couple of weeks to New Zealand (where Laurence lives) I recently told my parents and other family members about my decision. I thought it was a good time to mention it since people are cheery for the holidays, I also have the opportunity since I am blessed with a job, and well, it is my family after all so I could use some positive support. I unfortuneatly got the opposite of what I expected. I can see it from their point of view since I have not met Laurence in person...yet. Plus, he is a person who I did meet online and the usual thoughts were running fast in my family's mind; "How do you know he isn't a rapist, sex offender, murderer, ect.?" "Are you sure that's even him?" "What if he is lying to you?" "Why can't you find an American boy here and be happy with that?" As these questions were racing in my mind, I have yet to tell them that I feel more comfortable online than I do in person. If I get hit on, it's by the wrong age group and/or type of guys. A lot of guys judge a book by its cover and just think i'm a slob just because the way I look, or the typical "American boy" is rude, has little respect for females except for getting in their pants and have nearly ruined it for the rare gentlemen who are out their.