Greetings from NY's Hudson Valley

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Greetings from NY's Hudson Valley

Hello everyone. I tend not to post on forums or message boards much, and usually just end up trolling for information. But after browsing the website and reading all the wonderful advice here I just felt compelled to post a little hello and introduction about myself and soon to be long distance relationship.

So I'm from the Hudson Valley in New York. Last year I studied for two semesters in Germany and only reluctantly came back state side to finish my degree after my year was up. I'll admit I was a pretty bitter SOB for those first bunch of months back in NY. Having had such an amazing and completely liberating experience in Germany, coming back to a normal American university to finish my degree in small town NY was not high on my list of things to do.

After I arrived back, I had sworn myself off of American women and told myself that I could only be happy if I was involved with a European woman. But something extraordinary happened to me one fateful night. While at a party, that I didn't even want to go to, I met the most amazing girl. She totally took me by surprise. After a couple of dates we became officially involved, and I could not be happier. She has become such a light in my life. A life that was so bitter with longing for Germany. I absolutely love her.

But, unfortunately she is going to be studying abroad in Germany next semester. Berlin specifically. She'll be leaving in a few weeks and then I won't be get to see her for at least 3 months. The thought of it has me a little down, but I know that she should study abroad if she can, and in Berlin of all places! Such an amazing city. But I'm going to miss her like the dickens (that's a turn of phrase right =P).