Just joined! :)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Just joined! :)

Hi everybody! My name's Allison and I'm a newbie here : ). I'm 19 and recently started a LDR-sort of. We're not "officially" in a relationship yet, but we're committed to what we have together and can't wait to take the next step in our relationship!
    I'm not too sure what to say in this, so I'll talk about how we got started. We first met in our freshman year of high school marching band- we sat right next to each other. We ended up having more classes together and got to know each other really well and we've been best friends ever since. I've always had feelings for him, but always told myself "oh, I don't want to risk our friendship." Finally, during our senior year we started dating. It was wonderful dating my best friend, but then I broke things off for silly reasons I'm ashamed to say. After we graduated, we went our separate ways- me to a close-to-home college and he to a school 920miles away. Honestly, we didn't talk much during our first year away, just kind of an 'oh yeah lets catch up during holiday breaks.' But over the summer we started talking and hanging out more, and things started to fall back into place for us. I ended up realizing that as much as I wished I had never broken up with him in the past, I really needed that year apart from him to make me understand what an amazing relationship we had together. I hate that it took me that long to finally appreciate him so to speak, but I think that was ultimately for the best!