self worth

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

self worth

I have a major issue with self worth. I've talked with my therapist about this, according to her I have an overactive superego that doesn't allow my ego to be happy with what I'm doing. I constantly beat myself up for things I don't accomplish and don't have instead of giving myself the support I need for the things that I have accomplished.

I have a severe keeping up with the Jones's issue. I'm 26, two of my friends around my age have or are working on masters degrees. I feel incredibly behind in that I'm only working on my associates, but they also didn't take breaks out of high school and work a job and move out into their own apartment like I did. I've since had to move back home and have continued my education. I'm currently studying Criminal Justice and when my "I know what I want to be when I grow up" kicks in, I think I'd like to pursue a career as a prosecutor. When I doubt myself, I have no clue why I'm even in school, much less the CJ field.

My SO has graduated w/a degree in Culinary Arts and has a job, and through my own anxieties/depression/whatever you want to call it.. I make myself unequal to her (and my friends as well) in my head because I don't have things figured out like that and haven't had a job in 4 years.. and it's not for lack of trying.. but I crush myself emotionally all the time. To the point where even typing that last sentence out makes me want to cry. And I'm in a cafeteria at school. Not good.