How to deal with worries

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How to deal with worries

I am a newbie, and I've joined this site because I would really appreciate some advice from other people going through similar situations.
    My SO and I met in college. He's a lot older than me because he came back to school late, but he is also one year below me. So, I've just graduated and he has one year to go. That means... I've moved back to NY and he's in MA.
    Since we started going out, I've been pretty clear that our relationship would not go past graduation. I've done distance before and all previous such relationships failed for one reason or another. Not that I don't believe they can work, just that I recognize it would be really difficult.
    The weeks leading up to graduation my SO started getting more and more worried, and since we were really happy and were practically living together, he convinced me to at least give things a try.

However, I still had reservations and I clearly warned him there were several warnings as to why we could not be together.
    Every single time I went home for a break or a weekend, he'd go INSANE with insecurity. He'd tell me he's really frustrated and worried if I go out with my friends, and he'd call and text incessantly. I understand why he's afraid, I'm a lot younger than him and he's projecting his past experiences on me. But I've tried to be reasonable and not only console him, but limit the number of drinks I have while I'm out. He says he's not insecure and that he trusts me, but he doesn't trust my environment.
    But even when I went out in April with my BROTHER and COUSINS to a neighborhood dive, he still called and texted throughout the night. I told him I'd text him when I got home around 4 am but I went to a diner with my brother and he called me at 5 am to find out where I was. When I told him what I was doing and who I was with, he didn't believe me (initially), and I got pissed off.