Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Brand new to LDR! Plz Help!

I'm brand new to this and I need help!!

I'm from the Chicago area and my girlfriend left for San Diego yesterday morning... and I'm already going crazy! I already miss her so much! Please tell me it will get better because I don't see how I can go on like this. I think about her literally all the time. I know that nowadays it'll be easy to stay in touch, but there's still that physical barrier. I'm used to her living 7 blocks away, not 2000 miles. I'm used to waking up with her at my side every morning, smelling her hair, feeling her soft skin, kissing her beautiful lips. It's just not the same interacting with her solely through computers and phones. We both cried so much when she left yesterday and that feeling hasn't left me. It feels not just like she's been torn away from me, but like part of myself has been torn out. We also have no set time for closing the distance, which is making me worried that the distance will be too much and we won't be able to hang on, and that I'll lose her. Did anyone else go through this when they or their SO left for the first time? What can I do to make it better?

Welcome to the LFAD community! You'll find plenty of support here which may help you get through your struggles.

Being CD then to LDR can be tough, I haven't experienced it firsthand, but can imagine the pain one goes through as their SO leaves. As far as easing the pain, keep yourself busy all the time, hang out with friends, start a new hobby, basically anything that will help keep your mind off the distance. It does get easier overtime and the distance is tough, but it isn't impossible.

As you've mentioned, with technologies these days makes it easier to stay in contact. Email, text, call, and skype -often- to stay connected. Go on "dates" with each other, watch a movie and/or eat together, try and do the things you both would normally do, but via skype.

Best of luck and hang in there!