Am I being too needy?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Am I being too needy?

My boyfriend and I of 1 1/2 years just entered a LDR about a week and a half ago. We have been dating since I entered college and I am used to seeing him everyday, getting texts, and falling asleep/waking up next to him. I have been having a hard time adjusting to the distance due to my own very open schedule with a lot of downtime (I work as a front desk attendant mainly at night) and his incredibly busy schedule that has him in class from 6am to nearly 7pm at night with work till pretty much till late at night. With the one hour time difference, waiting to talk to him at night for our usual agreed upon 15 minutes minimum can get pretty tough.

I understand he has a horrible schedule and is incredibly busy, but I think part of why I am so upset is because of how distant he has become. I hardly ever get texts during the day aside from a good morning text in the morning and one saying he got off class. When we do talk I seem to do all the talking and he doesnt really say much about what he has been up to or how his life in his new home is going. He justs mentions how much work he has to do. When I suggest chatting or webcamming while he works and I read or watch tv (like we did when he was here) he just stresses how much work he has to do like I would distract him or something. Combined, these two things make me very lonely during the day and feel very isolated from him. Even when he was in the same city as me on his busiest days I was used to at least some updates during the day as to how he is.