Staying with partner's family over the holidays

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Staying with partner's family over the holidays

Wasn't sure where to put this because I'm not in a LDR anymore, but my boyfriend lives on the other end of the country from his family. Because my family is now all over the globe, I'd probably be alone at Christmas, so Tom invited me down to spend Christmas with him and his family. I am really happy and excited about this but I have never done this sort of thing before so I'm starting to overthink it and worry!

First of all, he's got a big family, and from what I gather they're pretty wealthy. I assume I'll be staying at the big family home too, with my boyfriend. We'll be eating a huge Christmas lunch/dinner as you do, and hopefully they will let us borrow a car or something so we can go do stuff. This is for about 4 days before we fly out to Sydney and Melbourne for a little new year's holiday.

My main question is - since they'll be feeding me and such - I should really get them a thank-you gift right?? I have only met Tom's dad but they seem very 'proper' and well-to-do whereas I'm very chilled and relaxed so I'm a little nervous. Aaaaand I have absolutely no idea what sort of gift would be appropriate. Help me!!

Here are some ideas I have so far:
    - A bottle of wine, mid-range pricewise as I'm not going to go broke buying them a super expensive one... I was thinking, since I used to live on a little island with lots of world-famous vineyards, I could get them a wine from there. But I'm worried they a) might not like wine, b) might think it's too cheap!! or c) think it might be a little presumptuous seeing as they don't know me?