New relationship

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New relationship

Hello, I am completely new to LDRs and I'm not sure what to do. I recently met a man online who lives in Australia. I live in California. We've talked a bunch of times, including FaceTime, so I know he's a real person in case there's any questions about that.

Dating for me has been a painful struggle for almost two years. I had come close to establishing a new relationship in the past, but the guy ended up being the wrong match. Then I met D. He is kind, considerate, communicative, and I feel that we really care about each other. We've talked about meeting in person but that won't happen for at least six months for financial reasons. He asked me just the other day if I would eventually consider moving to Australia to be with him. I told him the idea terrified me right now because I'd be leaving home, but I had thought about the possibility.

I'm conflicted because he seems to be the only decent guy I've met in a long time, but not being able to actually see or be with him feels incredibly lonely. I have a busy schedule that includes a great career, friends, and my family, but I've been ready to commit for a while now and doing things by myself is getting old. It seems silly if I end things with him because of distance, but the lack of physical contact (not necessarily the sexual kind) is so much harder to take than I thought. Anyone else been in this situation? Thank you for your input.

If he makes you feel this way, that's a good thing! I took a risk with my SO and I've never been happier. If you can't see him for 6 months there's no reason you can't use this time to really get to know him better beforehand right? I'd give it a chance to see how things develop. Long distance isn't easy but if it's the right person, nothing else compares to the feeling when you're finally reunited again.

Comment