Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Newbie here!!

Hey guys!

So my partner and I have been together since July this year. We were lucky enough to be able to meet very early on - I flew over to Australia and spent 5 weeks with him. I've been home for 3 weeks and I am struggling a little emotionally. Unfortunately, he is not an australian citizen and is over there in a working holiday visa. The plan is to get him over here in the UK but I'm struggling with the visa requirements. In the UK, there are now no such thing as "fiance" and "spouse" visas, it is just a "family of a settled person" visa and it says it should only take 30 days to go through?!

Wondering if anyone here can shed some light here for me, I have a few questions regarding the visa and I will be seeing an immigration solicitor but it would be good to know people's first hand experiences.

Thanks

Hey, firstly welcome to LFAD!

As for your situation, I haven't had to go through the process myself, but have looked up it myself due to my current LD relationship. I think what you are referring to is the 'family visa', which is annoying as I know that there used to be 'fiancée' and 'spouse' visas. Every government has to hinder love in some way I guess. Anyway, the only thing I can add to what you have said is that I know for this visa is there is a minimum income threshold that one of you must meet (most likely by you as you're living in the UK) in order for him to join you in the UK. I believe it currently stands at around £18,000 to £19,000 per year.

I'm sure you probably know more than me on this matter and all else I can recommend is you go on the UK government's website to look up more information about it. Good luck meeting the immigration solicitor, I hope you find the result you want.

Comment

Hi, welcome to LFAD