Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

How to deal with negative/unsupportive friends and family?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How to deal with negative/unsupportive friends and family?

Hello, everyone I'm looking for some advice on how to deal with negative opinions about my relationship from my friends and also some of my family. I'm someone who likes to feel supported, but I don't have that in my life. I come from a very toxic verbally abusive household, I've had many rough obstacles in my life, and before I met my boyfriend I've never truly dealt with my past. He has been a huge positive support system for me, and I have done a lot of healing because of his help. I have been attending counseling for about 4 months, thanks to his encouragement and him being so understanding. Now that I feel like I am in a great place in my life mentally, and emotionally, I'm trying to share my happiness with my friends and family. As soon as I speak about my relationship and how happy I am with how well we have been progressing in our relationship, I get nothing but quick negative response, which sting badly and catch me off guard. from both friends and family. my family thinks its a waste of time, and my friends always assume he's cheating on me.