Need some words of encouragement for a first time LDR

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Need some words of encouragement for a first time LDR

So my girlfriend has left to go travelling for 7 months and we are currently on week 3 since she has left. At current I am doing a masters degree so the pressure of that in conjunction with the LDR is taking it's toll. I plan on flying out to the Philippines in February to see her, but I'm already debating if I can last that long.

I'm finding it incredibly difficult. When I speak to her on Skype it's great, we have very engaging conversation and it makes me realise how much I truly love her and I know the same applies to her. But as she is so busy moving from place to place with inconsistent wifi, I find myself just bathed in anxiety when I can't keep in contact with her, as any conversation we're having may abruptly stop and I'm left just waiting for areply. I know she is fine and she is busy and I'm so happy that she is doing something that she loves, but at the same time, I feel so isolated.

I guess I just need some words of encouragement from people who have been in similar situations, advice on coping mechanisms, anything. I love this girl so much and I truly don't want to lose her.

The foundation of an LDR is complete trust. You have to trust your partner is remaining faithful despite your time apart. You say that she's traveling for the next 7 months, so I'm assuming she's coming back? That you two actually live in the same place, or no? Surviving a long distance relationship is not impossible, you just have to keep the communication flowing (when you can) and just trust that she loves you as much as you love her. The distance is hard, but it's only temporary!
    [CENTER][FONT=Georgia]
    Cherie & Jeffrey
    Dating Anniversary: 3/10/2015
    Engaged: 7/7/2017
    Closed the Distance: August 31st, 2017 ♥
    MARRIED: Eloped 11/21/17; Official Ceremony: May 18th, 2018 ♥