Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Advice appreciated--new to this whole thing

Hi everyone,

I am a recent professional school graduate in a LDR with a girl who I really love. In fact, I can honestly say I have never loved someone like this before in my life. I feel just privileged to be able to be with this person. The feelings, as far as I can tell, are wholly mutual.

We both went to the same school, but alas, I am now leaving to pursue a job in a different city (hours from where our mutual school was located) and further education. My LD partner and I have discussed this and agreed to set an end date of two years for us to be apart, while she completes her education.

My girlfriend is beautiful (much more than I am--I am not a built guy with muscles or anything), and I, frankly, have trust issues. But I have no idea why. She has never done anything dishonest with me. Yet, I cannot bring myself to trust that I will not get hurt in this process.

I have, in the past, suffered with depression. I fought back to get over those feelings a year or so ago. But the constant nagging feeling of distrust and the "what-ifs" seem to be dragging me back into the pit of depression--though it is not severe and I still go about my daily business. The point is that I do not feel like myself.

All of this is happening while I have much to look forward to on the horizon: I am graduating at the top of my class, have job offers, and a seemingly bright future ahead. But I am struggling with reconciling the feelings of (1) being head over heels with someone like I have never been before (and I have been in serious relationships in the past) and (2) the fear of being ruined by this.

Has anyone struggled with this tension before? And further, does anyone have any advice as to how to get over this illogical trust thing? I hope these questions are sufficiently specific, and I really appreciate any advice.
    Last edited by awayincan; May 6, 2017, 09:02 PM.

Hi,