Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

First LDR and struggling, help!!

Hi all,

It's my first time posting on a forum like this but i'm really struggling in my ldr and could use some advice/guidance/support! It's just been feeling so hard lately... We started dating last summer and fell hard and fast for each other, but a few months later he moved a few states away for a new job. He is a great boyfriend and I really value our relationship, but I hate that when I'm without him I feel just constantly sad and lonely. It doesn't help that I don't have a good support system where I'm currently living as most of my family and friends are far away. I'm here at least another two years for school, and that much longer apart is daunting. We see each other fairly frequently, usually about once every 4 weeks and the time together is always wonderful and makes the distance seem worth it, but the time apart is such a struggle. I see long term potential so I don't just want to give up, but how I've been feeling is not sustainable. I cry all the time (which is not normal for me), have trouble sleeping, and also have been having trouble concentrating and performing in school. I know I need to be able to deal with time apart, but I have not been dealing with it well. I really, really don't want to break up, but I just can't imagine feeling like this for two more years and idk what to do... Any advice for how to be happier/less sad and lonely in a ldr would be much appreciated! Thank you!!!

*hugs*
    How long have you been apart? Maybe you just need some time to adjust to seeing him once a month. I would say join some activities at school to keep yuou occupied during the day and some hardcore studying at night. In 2 years when you both are together and happy, you may look back and regret not studying harder in school.