Homes and assets

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Homes and assets

Ok, bear with me. The title is unhelpful, and I didn't even know where to put this.
    I'm not asking for advice on my situation, I'm asking for your personal opinions for yourselves.

As some of you know, Obi and I are saving up together to buy a home. It's quite exciting, and to me at least feels risky enough. I've never done the shared account thing before. But that's beside the point.
    The original plan for this money was (depending on the state of our relationship) to invest it before we return to Oz, (Which would mean putting it all in Obi's name, because the most rewarding returns come with the options that are only available to Canadian citizens.) or if we're not married/or at least engaged, then to put it into a term deposit and let it sit. (This option is preferable to me. Investing is a lot like gambling, even if your financial planner is your father in law. I'd prefer to make a small safe profit than to have the possibility of getting rich/losing everything. Obi's opinion differs lol)
    Whilst I'm ready to save with him, I'm not sure I'm ready to take an extra step and buy right now.

But now Obi is looking at buying before we return home. I can see why, but I still think it's stupid. That aside, he wants to buy a shiny new unit and I'd prefer a house. It's more practical, imo. He really has his heart set on a unit. Now he's expecting to get a settlement early next year. It wont be enough, once he gets out of debt, to have a deposit (i think) but it would easily do it if he takes back his share of our savings.
    My sister tells me to just let him go ahead and buy whatever the hell he wants.