Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

New LDR, quite clueless to how to make it work. Any advice accepted.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New LDR, quite clueless to how to make it work. Any advice accepted.

Hi my name is Kevz, and I am new to this forum. After using general love/dating forums and being called half-nuts for being in a LDR I'd figure that coming to a site about LDRs would be more understanding. I am a college student who recently started a LDR one month ago today.

Background: I met my girlfriend at a bus stop near my university. She was a foreign exchange student learning English and I am an engineering student. We both took the same bus home since she lived in the same direction. After helping her with the bus schedule we started to have small conversations over a month. One day we finally decided to hang out at the local mall, which eventually let to me inviting her to my grandparents' house for her first Thanksgiving dinner. Sadly, after the few short months I knew her and few weeks after we started to hang out she gave me the bad news she was leaving the country for practically forever. From Thanksgiving she kept telling me how she wished we could be dating and I said the same back. When the time came for her to leave I surprised her with flowers and presents and said our good byes. It was hard for me since I feel like she is the only girl I have ever met who truly understands me and is everything I would have wanted in a gf. After an emotional goodbye and her once again asking if there would be anyway for us to date I regrettably said no since I did not believe LDRs actually could work. I'd figure that just like everyone else who moves away it would only be a matter of time until we fell out.