Traveling Blues -- advice?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Traveling Blues -- advice?

So I'm an international student in Europe which means I actually don't have a ton of time left before me and my boyfriend close the distance for good at the end of May, which we're both looking forward to.

In the meantime, my classes are about to end, and I'm using the rest of the time when I don't have exams scheduled to travel around Europe. I've never been and I'm really excited about seeing the world. I'm sure it'll make the rest of the time go really fast for me! But also slower for him because it's longer and longer since the last time we saw each other and I'm gonna be really busy and out of town a lot and less able to talk to him. I realized that between now and when I go home to America, I'm going to spend more nights traveling than I will at home in Ireland. When I'm out of the country, my ability to talk to him is pretty low.

I feel bad that I will be out having great experiences and leaving him at home with no real way to even contact me for the better part of two months. He's very supportive and says he doesn't want me to worry about that and just have a really amazing time and he'll see me lots when I get home. But I can tell he's sad about it too. I don't want it to hurt our relationship, so far we've done remarkably well with the distance. Do you guys have any tips on making him feel less lonely and remind him that I care about him when it might be hard/impossible to call/text some of the time?