New LDR, any advice please?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New LDR, any advice please?

Hye, I'm new here and am just looking for a little advice.
    Well, it's really all in the title. I'm a Londoner who has seriously fallen head over heals for a Kiwi. I've been in an LDR before but that was only 2 hours drive and he was too young I guess to put the effort in to maintaining it.
    I find myself thinking about Jorge (the Kiwi as he has become known to my friends and family) constantly, if we go a day without talking I get a little sad and miss him LOADS (apparently love brings out the soppy little girl in me-go figure).
    I don't really know how to do this I guess, in my last LDR we could still see each other once a fortnight and the idea of going REALLY long periods of time (I'm a student with very little funds currently) without seeing this guy who I'm crazy about is a little daunting.
    So, how does everyone do it? The end of tunnel is at least 3 years away when I finish university so we could both be in this for the long haul.
    I know it's early days but there's just something about him, the ease of conversation, our similarities and just the way that he makes me feel. AAH.

So yeah..help please?

Hi, CrimsonPetal--
    You're doing it! Talk every day via skype or what have you. It's all about doing it one day at a time. That sounds like a cliche from someone's Great Aunt June, but it's the way that has worked for me--
    GG
    17 years LDR out of 18 years of marriage. Oh, yeah, plus a year of LDR courtship.

Comment

Just keep the communication lines open. If things start to get boring, find new things to do together as a couple from far away... send stuff in the mail, make it as interesting as you can from far away. If you are both willing to work on open communication, I believe that long distance relationships can withstand the distance. It's important to have faith and it takes work.