Some support needed

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Some support needed

Connor and I knew going into our relationship that it was going to be ridiculously hard. That was 5/28/09. We're really, truly feeling it now. We want for it to work more than anything, but it's hard when I'm an admittedly needy person with emotional instability and he's a student at one of the toughest high schools in the country. I graduated from said school, so I know exactly what he's going through, but it doesn't change the fact that there are times that I need more from him than he can give me. He is almost always tired or busy, usually both.

We would both sacrifice just about anything, short of our academics, but he doesn't really have a lot to give in this situation. This means it's pretty much up to me. Becoming more emotionally independent is something I have been wanting/needing to do anyway, and now I'm faced with an extremely compelling reason. Problem is, I just don't know how. I need to fight off my insecurities and my tendency to get very lonely, very easily. I am more than willing to do this, but I don't know where to start. I want so badly to make things easier on Connor. I don't want to hurt him, but I still want to be with him. Help?

I know it's tough. But you will have to be patient, my dear. As you mentioned, he attends one of the toughest schools. It's crucial for you to fight off your insecurities and let him focus on his studies for now. This is one of the biggest turning points of his life, and his academic performance has the potential to build his future. This moment could make him or break him! You should be his source of strength and support instead of his weakness.