College and the Cost of Living

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

College and the Cost of Living

Hello everyone! I am new to this forum and only just recently made an account. I have been in a long distance relationship since June of 2013. My partner is wonderful and very sweet. However, I've been feeling very depressed lately. On top of the burdens of being a graduate student, I miss my partner dearly. We've only been able to hang out in person twice now (I'm hoping he can make it out in December or January) but I want to know if anyone has managed to overcome the hurdles of striving for an academic career while maintaining a relationship? We are both in school, but my partner is in California and I am in Illinois. I have no idea if we will be able to go to the same school, where our paths will take us, etc. We are willing to do what it takes, but it's so hard to go everyday without being able to at least get a hug. We are from similar socioeconomic backgrounds and do not have much financially. Skype helps immensely in keeping our relationship alive, and we skype and text everyday. Doesn't help at all that we are both super cuddly people when we are together either.

I am currently in a PhD program in anthropology. My fiancé is an archaeologist. While he is not in school currently, he does plan to go to grad school and get his MA at some point. We moved to Arizona so I could go to grad school here. He'll try to apply for grad school at the same institution as me. As he is less academically inclined than I am, he said he'd move wherever I need to for school. If for some reason it does not work out for him to go to school here, then we'll wait until I have my degree and we'll move to wherever he needs to go.