New to LDR

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New to LDR

Ok so I started seeing my partner a couple of months ago. I have known from the beginning that we would only be in the same city for a short time, and accepted it. I suppose at the time, I felt we had enough time to really get to know each other and solidify our bond. But unfortunately, COVID intervened along with my countries second lockdown. So essentially we are not going to have seen each other for a period of about 7 weeks by the time we meet again (and this already in the same city) and then in Jan/Feb he will move. I've never done a long distance relationship before and to be honest, this 7 weeks apart has been like a huge reality to check as to what I'm letting myself in for. And its taken some adjusting as it is. I've been really sad already. Which i know isn't a good start. And this has been made worst by the fact I asked him about a weekend break once we could see each other again and he said he had no time because of study and exams he's preparing for.

I am studying too. But I am an undergrad (all be it a mature student) and he is on a phd which takes up huge chunks of his time (compared to mine) and will affect how often we see each other when he's away. On the plus side he has done LDR before (albeit it failed) and he's not worried about it. He's also really supportive of my personal endeavours. But as I, I am finding it hard to adjust already. But I don't want to be defeated. Hence coming here for advice and support. I wanna give me and him the best shot at things.

At the moment our primary method of communication is texting. He texts me lengthily texts throughout the day. Which to be honest, are nice but do nothing for me. I prefer phone calls and video calls. So I am curious on hearing from others about the best ways to communicate for a LDR and other people's thoughts.