Torn between two homes

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Torn between two homes

I guess this could be for any LD couple, but have any of you spent an extended amount of time in your SO's country? I studied abroad here in CR for 10 months, and now have been living here for about 10 months. I miss my home country a lot, but the truth is I know when we move back to the USA I'm going to miss CR too. I guess now I have two homes, but it feels more like I have no homes. That sound disgustingly depressing, but I guess what I mean is I'll always miss something about the other place. There's so many things I love about each place, and there's so many things I wish were different. I remember flying into San Jose for the first time after I left, and seeing all the green mountains and cows and shacks... for some crazy reason made me feel like I was coming home. I get the same feeling when flying into my dinky hometown, smelling the curing tobacco, seeing the ball park, the paved roads...

Does anyone else feel this way? Torn between two homes?

I do.

You'd never guess it though, with my dislike for Canada. Haha. There are some things I miss - and people. A big part of "Home" for me is the people. I'm looking forward to our next trip to Canada, but that may also be because I know it'll be a visit not a move.
    There are pros and cons to both places, I think that's why I'll never push Obi to settle here, even though deep down I know I could.
    Happily married to the little Canadian boy I never thought I'd meet in person

Comment

I don't have time for a long response right now because I gotta get ready for work. But YES, I agree 100%. I love so many things about Mali and Malians and I know I will miss it incredibly when I'm not here.