Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Are your parents supportive?

Hi there!

I have a very strict stepfather who has cause a lot of trouble for my relationship.
    When he came to visit me for the first time my dad ignored him and made it clear to me that he doesn't approve.
    In 1 year and 10 months of dating, he's been causing trouble almost every visit. He always gives my fiancé a hard time
    by criticizing him and telling him that he can't take me away and all that. I wanted to stop studying after I got my bachelor degree
    to move in with my fiancé. My dad, being the strict dad he is, was absolutely furious and blamed Jordan (my fiancé) for everything.
    I always had to be careful not to text too much when my dad was near because I would get a long speech on how "I only care about Jordan"
    Of course Jordan doesn't like him much at all because of all that so when he proposed to me he didn't find it necessary to ask my stepfather for permission.
    My dad was absolutely furious and started yelling at both of us when we told my parents that we're engaged. He even threatened to kill him.
    It was absolutely awful.
    When my dad realized he can't keep me away from him he offered me to do my master's in America (because he didn't want us to marry to get me into the country)
    I know that my stepfather loves me and is very jealous and doesn't want me to leave and that's why he's been acting like that. However I think his behavior is completely inexcusable.

I hope you guys out there have better luck with the parents and your relationship?
    Are they supportive? Or afraid?