Help! Swiss/American

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Help! Swiss/American

My boyfriend is Swiss and I am American. Do any of you guys have any idea how we can close the distance without getting engaged? I have heard about the K1 visa but I don't want to use it because I feel like we should only be OFFICIALLY together without the pressure.

We both finished college. I got my BSN degree and he finished with Hospitality Management. He is currently in the Philippines finishing Culinary School as his higher education, and is leaving for Switzerland as soon as he graduates (this December) for his on-the-job training. This will take at least 5 months, which kills me just by thinking about it. (5 more months?!!)

I am also aware of the working visa alternative, but should this even be considered? Hotels/Restaurants just don't hire people outside the country. I mean, why look for someone outside their country and spend so much for a person when they can get workers here? So the chances for this, I think, is really small. Is there any other option? There must be! (legal options)

I don't want to wait longer than this added 5 months, please help!

Don't give up on the work Option without having tried!

As a Swiss who also has a Hospitality Background, I can say:
    The swiss Hospitality-Formation courses are world reknown as some of the best ones in the world. So if he did do one of those Colleges, his chances might not be that small.
    Of course as a "normal" waiter or Chef in the mexican Restaurant down the road, his chances wouldn't be huge. In the top Hotels and Restaurants, also in the Management departement, his chaces might not be that small.
    Which School did he attend? I think he should ask there about his chances of working in the states, maybe they even have tipps and tricks or even contacts for him.
    International Hotelchains might not be a bad Idea for a start.