Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Is there ever a good time to break it off?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Is there ever a good time to break it off?

This is my first time posting so I'm a bit nervous. I'll try and keep it as short as possible.

I've been with my boyfriend for 9 months and only 4 of those months have we actually been together (in person). I never wanted a LDR but when I met him last year and it came to that point, I thought I'd be able to manage. Basically, I've come to realize that I can't. I know the relationship would work if we were together, but we're not. Here is where things get complicated: I'm moving back home in 2 months after I finish at university, but he might go away when the school year starts again in September for study abroad. That means we'll only have another 4 months together before being apart again. I'll also be moving away again at the beginning of next year for more schooling, so even if he comes back after studying abroad, I'd be leaving shortly after. And when I go, I'll be even farther than before I won't have the opportunities to come home as often as I do now. I know that next year when I leave again, I do not want to be in a LDR. I'm just wondering if I should end it with him now, when I get back, or enjoy what limited time we have together before I leave again.

Any feedback is much appreciated.

On a side note: I have continuously been struggling with my mental health for the past 4 years. I thought getting a boyfriend would help make me happier and it did, but now that we're together but apart I'm more depressed than when I was single. My biggest concern is my health and happiness - something I've never been able to establish. (is it terrible for me to not want anything to stand in the way of my happiness, even if it means hurting someone else?)