Military Conundrum

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Military Conundrum

I've never done this kind of thing before. I'm very new to this. So long story short, we were good friends all four years of college. It wasn't until senior year that we ended getting together. When we did, we both thought it would be until the end of college and then we would go on our separate ways. I have always been very open about being against the military and have been very active fighting against the whole military industrial complex. I have, however, been very supportive of our troops because they are just people doing their jobs and you can't blame them for the stupidity of our government. Well, low and behold, my friend (now boyfriend) was in the ROTC program and now he's in the Army. Graduation came and we still want to be together. We're just two very opposite people blissfully happy together.

Never in a million years did I think I was going to EVER find myself in this situation. The situation where he's in a base learning the strategies of war in Georgia and here I am about to start working for a nonprofit that aids refugees abroad in California. But none of that matters to me. I love him dearly and I support him in whatever it is that he wants to do, even if I don't necessarily agree with his choices. But they are his to make and I love him enough to stand by him and be there for him. But its been hard for me lately. This whole Syria thing is freaking me out and even though the possibility of ground troops being sent are slim, it still scares me. I really hate him sometimes. I hate him for making me feel this way. I hate him for putting me through this and I know rationally that this isn't his fault. It still doesn't make things any better for me. He's my best friend. I don't know what I'd do if something were to happen to him. I know I shouldn't worry about this until I have to but I can't help it.