Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Do you feel like an equal to your military partner?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Do you feel like an equal to your military partner?

Hi everyone, I'm new to the military lifestyle. My boyfriend is currently in AIT. We have a very strong and loving relationship, but there are things about "military relationships" in general that put me ill at ease.

I absolutely don't mean to insult anyone, but these thoughts have been on my mind from day one and I want to hear some other opinions about them. It seems to me from what I read on nearly every military forum, on every blog post, on every topic to do with dating someone in the military, it is "support him unconditionally" and "he needs your support" and "always be there for him" and "do all of this stuff to take care of him". Where is the other side of these relationships? Why does it seem like nobody dating soldiers expects support in return? I can't possibly be the only one who expects my soldier to put as much effort into supporting me as I do to him, can I?

And on a similar note, I get the unsettling feeling that many military significant others feel like being in the military is a far more important job than any civilian could have. I don't think that being in the service is any more important than any other job- there is a place and purpose for all sorts of people in this world. Shouldn't we be praising the significant others just as much, those who are teachers and lawyers and writers and stay at home parents and whatever else they might choose to be?

Really, I just want to be proven wrong and hear from some other people who think they are equal in their relationships with their military partner, and who expect the partner to put just as much energy into the relationship as they do.