Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Advice needed

Hi everyone,

New to this forum so hope i'm posting this in the right section.
    I live in San Diego, my girlfriend's a 4 hour flight away in Mexico. We met while both studying abroad in Panama and were together for around 6 months there, and have been together now for about 4 years - 3 and a half of them long distance.

At first, I was visiting her at least every 6-8 weeks. She'd come a couple of times a year and I understood i'd have to visit more often - I'm a software engineer and naturally make more living in the US, she's works in marketing in Mexico so naturally makes less. It's also much easier for me to get a visa than for her, but at any rate I never complained. Every time she came to visit me she said she'd love to live in San Diego one day.

A year ago, at this point 3 years in to our relationship (2.5 years long distance) she'd completed 2 years at her job, and I was hoping she'd start applying to jobs here in San Diego so we could try and end the long distance. However, she opted to take another job in Mexico. I was devastated but she assured me she wasn't planning to stay there for long. Fast forward 6 months, I was offered a job in Vancouver, and was very close to taking it, but turned it down because it would have meant being even further away (7 hours flight). Anyway, fast forward 6 months more and here we are, 4 years into our relationship, 3.5 of them long distance. We used to video facetime at least weekly, if not twice a week. Now we don't at all, maybe just the odd phone call during the week - aside from the usual text messaging. The past 2 months we haven't facetimed at all - she came over for a week and it was great, completely normal. But as soon as she went back to Mexico it's back like that - we aren't talking properly.