I hate that he is a better writer!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

I hate that he is a better writer!

So, I absolutely love doing traditional snail mail with my SO. It's kind of fun to think that if we stick this out, we have something tangible to keep for the future to share with kids/grandkids/whatever. Like those old WW2 love letters.

The problem I run into, I get these letters from him that are super eloquent and just beautiful. And mine feel like hurrr duurrr I miss youuu.

It's not that I can't express how I feel, it's just that - his command of the poetry of language is so much better than mine. I tend to be much more of a straight shooter.

Any suggestions on how I can improve my letters?

I used to be a much more romantic writer when I was younger. Getting my MA really beat that out of me - say what I will say, say it, say what I said: point a, b, c

(he's a better academic writer than me too - REALLY not fair!)

Hmmm.... I feel the same way about my writing, although my boyfriend says he enjoys my letters I just feel like they're so bland and blah. It's difficult for me sometimes to write down my feelings or express my love on a piece of paper so I end up saying the same thing over and over I feel. I've looked up tips and tricks on how to write a good love letter but then I feel as though they are too cheesy, even for me, and I LOVE writing cheesy letters, so I eventually gave up and just continue writing the way I do. What if you take some sort of free online creative writing/poetry course or something that will allow you to practice? I'm sure there are plenty of videos on YouTube about creative writing and love letters or free online courses for it

Comment