X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Research - observing this section

Hey everyone!

I guess most of you know me, but I just wanted to make this thread anyway. I'm a university student, and for my course 'Ethnography' I've decided to write about perceptions of marriage in an online long-distance relationship community, mostly because of a message I got from Lucybelle who suggested that it might be very different from 'traditional' views of marriage, in terms of it being necessary for closing the distance and getting a visa. So I'm doing a 'netnography' of LFAD

I'm going to observe LFAD and specifically this subforum for the next 5 weeks, and write about perceptions of marriage. I will not mention any usernames. It is not going to be published anywhere, and only my teachers and interested LFAD members will get to read the final paper. So there's nothing to be worried about, I just wanted to 'make my presence as researcher' known, because I thought it'd be nice!

If you wish to not have anything you say included in my observations, please say so. If you have any questions please ask me! I also saw that someone just created a topic on the exact thing I'm writing about, so you can share all your thoughts there and it would really help me Of course you can also write about your thoughts here!

Great topic for a paper! My LDR has recently started and has been progressing very well, I must say! We both love each other and we see each other about every 6 weeks or so. Right now, we both are enjoying riding this wave of getting to know one another and falling more and more in love with one another. We have brought up marriage but only saying that it's on the table and we will take it one day at a time. We both realize it's too early to be making a big decision like marriage. But if one of us was to make a commitment to move to the others city - I think marriage would have to come off the table and into our relationship.