Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Students - how to you finance your trips?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Students - how to you finance your trips?

Just wondering

When I was a student, I used and bused my student discounts - there's SO MANY ways for students to get discounts - STA travel is just one. So that cuts my travel costs way-way down.

Then I make sure that I set aside a specific portion of my pay, and I also saved any holiday money I had strictly towards travel since I enjoyed it.

LFAD Book Challenge: 34/100 Complete

Comment

When I was a student, I used and bused my student discounts - there's SO MANY ways for students to get discounts - STA travel is just one. So that cuts my travel costs way-way down.

Then I make sure that I set aside a specific portion of my pay, and I also saved any holiday money I had strictly towards travel since I enjoyed it.

LFAD Book Challenge: 34/100 Complete

Comment

I work part time so most of the money I save goes to my trips. I take the train instead of a plane because it's way cheaper. I might have to be on a train for 10 hours (technically it's two trains since I make a connection in Toronto) but I save about $300! Also, once I get there Kyle and his parents don't let me pay for anything. It honestly makes me feel bad since they are giving me a place to stay, food, etc. but every time I try to help to pay or something they won't let me!

I'm not telling you it's going to be easy.
        I'm telling you it's going to be worth it.

Comment

Part-time job helped me save the $3000NZD I needed for my first trip. I am pretty broke now and looking for another part-time job.

Comment