X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Entering the United States-Nervous!

Hi all,
    This is my first time posting on here after having a bit of a look around

In a couple of weeks I will be visiting my boyfriend who is living in California. We are both Canadians but he is on a 3 year work visa in the States so I try to visit him when I can. I've tried finding a job in the States but have had no luck so we are doing long distance until he returns to Canada.

I am really nervous about entering the States and being denied entry by the border/immigration officer.

Each time I have been asked my reason for visiting, I am always upfront and tell them it is to visit my boyfriend and other than being asked some extra questions, I've had no problems.

This time, I guess I'm just worried they'll see my history of visiting him, which is about every 1-2 months and freak out over that or something. Since he moved in October, I've visited him for every long weekend holiday and for almost all of my visits it's always been only for about 4 days because of the limited number of vacation days I can take from work. This visit I'm going on this month will be the longest I've visited him, which will be 9 days.

If I have a return ticket and am only visiting for 9 days, do you think I'll get any trouble entering the States?

Canadians, for the most part, have very very few problems entering the USA. Your frequent entries is actually a good sign. It means every time you've gone in, you've left right when you said you would. As long as it's just a few days every two months or so, you'll be just fine.

Comment