Need Immigration Advice for SO

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Need Immigration Advice for SO

My fiancee is coming to the US for a few months in September, she already has a B-2 visa and has traveled to the US prior to meeting me. We have not applied for a K-1 yet.

We both are aware that she should not tell the Immigration officer that she is coming here to be with her "fiance". She is merely going to state she is here for pleasure and staying with friends.

Since I have no experience with entry at the US border (as a non-citizen), does anyone have first hand knowledge or experience with their SO coming in under a B-2 and what type of questions they ask? Does she need to show/demonstrate sufficient funds for her visit? Should I go with her at the border entry?

We may also be married while she is here and then file for a change of status. Anyone have experience with doing that?

We are going to maintain dual residences (one in the US and one in Costa Rica) and travel back and forth every 2 - 3 months.

Well, she needs to prove she has bonds in her country and that she has the intention of returning. I'm from Brazil, and applying for the same type fo visa in December, I need to present my 3 last paychecks and present my Employment Record Card and a bank statement proving I can afford the trip and my latest income tax return.

It's basically that aside from passport, ID card (I think) and all the extras they ask, picture, receipt of payment and I think that's about all. If anyone has any extra tips, please let us know (since I'll be checking this back for them In the same situation)
    My blog: A revisit of my most successful LDR. Posting the story of us in chapters.

Comment

It sounds like you are applying for a VISA as she has already gone through all that to obtain a B-2.

Comment

I have gone to the States for two 3-month trips in the last year. They were on a visitors visa.