Advice on dealing with the jetlag ?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Advice on dealing with the jetlag ?

My SO and I are going to spend one week of vacations in Germany next week. It's a 7h time difference for me and whoever traveled east on a red-eye flight knows that jet lag is pretty bad in this direction. Over the years as I travel often for work, I have managed to recover faster and faster from it. The first time I traveled that way (in 2010) it took me a full week to recover, now I can be somewhat operational the day after landing (taking melatonin at the beginning of the flight also helps).

For this trip however, I'll land at 10am, rent a car, and drive us to a hotel 1h30 away (I already have some fears about driving under the effect of jet lag, I've never done it before). The hotel's check-in starts only at 5pm so we will have to stay busy until we can get our room, which means finding a place to eat, visiting the city, etc. And when we will have our room, you can imagine my SO would be pretty frustrated (although she would understand) if I fall asleep right away.

Do you guys have any tricks to cope with the jet lag? (right now I'm waking up earlier and earlier everyday, using melatonin to force my biological cycle to shift, and I plan to be up at 4am the day I travel, but it's really a bet on whether I'll manage to sleep in the plane or not...). What would be really great is something that would boost me right out of the plane (and don't suggest coffee, it makes me stressed :P).

What seemed most effective for me was just toughing out the first day, and then going to sleep at what would be considered a normal time wherever I am. I'll be super tired for that first day, but I tend to bounce back pretty quickly on the second day.

Comment