Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New guy

Hello all!

I'd like to take a minute just sit right there, and I'll tell you how I became the prince of a town called Bel-Air. I'm only kidding, but humor always makes introductions easier.

So, my name is Rob, and I am an Army Veteran. I Served 6 years active duty in the Signal Corps. I met my SO while stationed at Fort Campbell. Things went great, we fell in love and we ended up moving in with each other. We will have been together coming up on three years in February. I finished my enlistment in December of last year and have since become a civilian contractor in the same line of work I did in the Military.

This year started off a bit rough for us as I took a job that, while I was able to stay located in Kentucky, required me to travel to other military bases around the US quite often. It was rough, but I don't think either of us really considered it a LDR because I was usually gone for no more than a month at a time. Things were going okay, but not great, until I got laid off not 6 months after I started this new job. I've never really been good with money in the first place so we were already a bit behind BEFORE I got laid off. Losing my job just made things worse and added to the accumulating pile of stress that already existed.