Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Doing a Masters degree abroad and closing the distance..

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Doing a Masters degree abroad and closing the distance..

My boyfriend is thinking about (or better already trying) to apply for a Masters's degree in a university that is close to where I live!

I'm very excited right now, because he could maybe start in September or October!!

There is also a possibility of him getting a scholarship!!

What do you all think about the possibility of doing a Masters study abroad (in your SO's country) and so close the distance?

I had considered it, but unfortunately, my major is psychology, and as a result of that, to do my graduate (postgraduate it's called there? I think?) studies abroad, I would more or less have to do a 1-2 year conversion course. :/

However, I did consider it. I think the most important things to consider would be money (it's not as easy to find financial help for graduate studies abroad as it is for one's undergraduate studies abroad) and whether or not it's in his best interests for his degree. For example, doing a conversion course and getting my graduate degree in psychology, which especially since I want to work in clinical psychology is a very regional degree, would probably not be in my best interests considering I also hope to ulimately move back to California with my SO in tow. :P So unfortunately getting my degree abroad may not be what's in my best interests for my career. If he's in a more flexible degree (I believe business, language, etc. degrees are pretty flexible/general across colleges and degree programs), then he should be fine, but I do think he needs to consider what's best for him and his future, regardless of you.
    { Our Story on LFAD }

Our Beginning
    Met online: February 2009
    Feelings confessed: December 2010
    Unofficially together since: January/February 2011
    Officially together since: 08 April 2011

Our Story